Protective styling is a form of low manipulation styling that ultimately promotes length retention. Put simply, the less you play in your hair the more it will grow. At least that's what I have gotten from the many bloggers and YouTubers I follow. This is especially important during the winter when Ohio weather is harsh. Keeping your ends sealed with oil and tucked away will keep them from coming in contact with our cotton shirts and wool coats causing ends to be roughed up and split. I follow Kimmaytube on YouTube and she keeps her hair protected all year round leaving her hair out only a few days out of the month. My protective style of choice is mini twist. I love mini twist! It takes me about 3-4 hours to complete my entire head. But I can make it last for up to 4 weeks. I try to keep them in for 3 weeks and where my hair out during week 4 then its back to mini twists! Check out Kimmaytube on the benefits of protective styling and Blackonyx77 on doing rope twists vs two strand twists.


Picture
Mini twits at 4 weeks (left) twist out (right)



Leave a Reply.